Eric Spicely Takes Short-Notice Matchup vs. Deron Winn at UFC Greenville

By: Tristen Critchfield
Jun 17, 2019


Deron Winn has a third different opponent for his Octagon debut, as Eric Spicely has agreed to step in on short notice at UFC Greenville on Saturday.

ESPN was first to report the new middleweight booking, and it was later confirmed by MMAFighting.com. Winn had previously been scheduled to face Markus Perez and Bruno Silva , but both of those foes eventually were forced to exit the contest. UFC Fight Night 154 takes place at Bon Secours Wellness Arena in Greenville, S.C., and is headlined by a featherweight showdown pitting Renato Carneiro against Chan Sung Jung.

Winn vs. Spicely is slated for the preliminary portion of the card, which airs on ESPN2 beginning at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT. The main card is streams on ESPN+ beginning at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT.

Spicely went 2-4 during a previous stint with the Las Vegas-based promotion before being released in 2018. The 32-year-old has since put together back-to-back first-round stoppage victories on the regional circuit, including a KO of UFC vet Caio Magalhaes at CES MMA 55.

Winn will make his first promotional foray with a 5-0 record. Most recently, Winn outpointed ex-UFC talent Tom Lawlor at Golden Boy MMA’s debut event this past November. His first four pro wins all come by first-round TKO.

Fighter Profiles

Related MMA News

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus

GRRRR!!!More on Sherdog.com Mobile