UFC on ESPN 26 Loses Miles Johns vs. Anderson dos Santos Due to Positive COVID-19 Test

By: Tristen Critchfield
Jul 17, 2021
View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Miles Johns (@mileschapojohns)



UFC on ESPN 26 is down to 10 fights after Miles Johns vs. Anderson dos Santos was scrapped due to a positive COVID-19 test in dos Santos’ camp.

Johns initially announced the cancellation on social media and it has since been confirmed by multiple outlets.

“It’s with great regret that I have to inform you all that I will not be fighting this evening. My opponent/camp tested positive for COVID so the fight is off,” Johns wrote on Instagram. “I want to wish him a speedy recovery, want to thank the UFC for the opportunity but mainly want apologize to everyone who was looking forward to watching me fight today.”

UFC on ESPN 26 takes place at the UFC Apex in Las Vegas and is headlined by a lightweight tilt between Islam Makhachev and Thiago Moises. The main airs on ESPN and ESPN+ at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT, while prelims stream on ESPN and ESPN+ at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT.

Johns has been victorious in two of his three Octagon appearances. The Dana White’s Contender Series alum is coming off a third-round knockout of Kevin Natividad at UFC Fight Night 181 this past October.

After dropping his first two promotional outings, dos Santos rebounded to submit Martin Day in the opening stanza at UFC on ESPN 18 in November 2020.

« Previous Next »

More

Fighter Profiles

GRRRR!!!More on Sherdog.com Mobile