UFC on ESPN 18 Loses Amir Albazi-Zhalgas Zhumagulov Flyweight Bout

By: Tristen Critchfield
Nov 25, 2020


A proposed flyweight bout pitting Amir Albazi against Zhalgas Zhumagulov has been pulled from the UFC on ESPN 18 lineup.

Russian outlet TASS was first to report the news. The cancellation reportedly occurred because of a passport issue involving Zhumagulov. As it stands now, UFC on ESPN 18 will move forward with 11 fights.

UFC on ESPN 18 takes place on Saturday at the UFC Apex in Las Vegas and is headlined by a heavyweight tilt between Curtis Blaydes and Derrick Lewis. The main card airs on ESPN2 and ESPN+ at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT, while the prelims stream on ESPN+ at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT.

A veteran of Bellator and Brave CF, Albazi made successful Octagon debut at UFC Fight Night 172, where he submitted Malcolm Gordon with a triangle choke in the opening stanza on July 18.

Zhumagulov, meanwhile, droppped a unanimous verdict to Raulian Paiva in his first promotional foray at UFC 251 on July 11.

« Previous Next »

More

Fighter Profiles

GRRRR!!!More on Sherdog.com Mobile