UFC 262 Weigh-in Results: Oliveira, Chandler Cleared for Title Tilt; Bontorin Heavy

By: Tyler Treese
May 14, 2021

Sign up for ESPN+ right here, and you can then stream UFC 262 live on your smart TV, computer, phone, tablet or streaming device via the ESPN app.

A new Ultimate Fighting Championship lightweight champion will be crowned after the unstoppable Khabib Nurmagomedov stepped away from the sport last year.

Headlining UFC 262 is a vacant 155-pound title fight between the streaking Charles Oliveira and former Bellator MMA king Michael Chandler. The UFC's latest pay-per-view card is now official after the weigh-ins took place. All but one fighter made weight, although the "hoop" to cover fighters was needed multiple times.

Having won eight straight fights, Oliveira (30-8, 1 NC) is finally living up to his potential. "Do Bronx" most recently bested Tony Ferguson via decision, but had finished all seven of his prior opponents. Along the way, he tapped out names like Kevin Lee, Jim Miller and Clay Guida. The 31-year-old looked prepared before his first UFC title fight, and weighed 155 pounds on the dot.

Chandler (22-5) left Bellator on a two-win streak, and made his triumphant UFC debut by knocking out Dan Hooker. The impressive performance was enough to score "Iron Mike" a spot in the vacant title fight. With wins over former UFC lightweight champions Eddie Alvarez and Benson Henderson already on his record, Chandler will look to claim that distinction for himself. The 35-year-old officially weighed 155 pounds exactly.

One fighter did come in heavy: Rogerio Bontorin (137), who typically competes at flyweight, missed the bantamweight cap by one pound. He elected not to continue cutting weight, and he has been issued a 20 percent fine. His main card pairing with Matt Schnell will otherwise continue as scheduled.

UFC 262's main card will stream Saturday exclusively via ESPN+ pay-per-view starting at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT. Early prelims will stream on ESPN+ and UFC Fight Pass starting at 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT, while the action will move to ESPN and ESPN+ at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

UFC 262 Weigh-in Results:

Charles Oliveira (155) vs. Michael Chandler (155)
Tony Ferguson (156) vs. Beneil Dariush (156)
Katlyn Chookagian (126) vs. Viviane Araujo (126)
Shane Burgos (146) vs. Edson Barboza (146)
Matt Schnell (136) vs. Rogerio Bontorin (137)*
Ronaldo Souza (186) vs. Andre Muniz (186)
Lando Vannata (146) vs. Mike Grundy (146)
Andrea Lee (126) vs. Antonina Shevchenko (125)
Jordan Wright (185) vs. Jamie Pickett (186)
Gina Mazany (126) vs. Priscila Cachoeira (126)
Kevin Aguilar (145) vs. Tucker Lutz (146)
Christos Giagos (156) vs. Sean Soriano (156)

* Bontorin missed weight by one pound and has been fined 20 percent of his purse.

Advertisement
« Previous Next »

More

Fighter Profiles

GRRRR!!!More on Sherdog.com Mobile