UFC 257 Weigh-in Results: Card Changed After Three Fighters Fail To Make Weight

By: Tyler Treese
Jan 22, 2021

Update: Due to their opponents failing to weigh-in, Frevola and Tsarukyan will now meet in a catchweight bout on the card.
The Ultimate Fighting Championship puts on its first pay-per-view of 2021, and its third card in eight days, on Saturday. UFC 257 is headlined by the return of former two-weight champion Conor McGregor, who will take on a familiar foe in lightweight contender Dustin Poirier. The weigh-ins weren't without drama as three fighters failed to make contracted weight and the card had to be changed as a result.

Both Ottman Azaitar and Nasrat Haqparast didn't weigh-in at all and their respective bouts against Matt Frevola and Arman Tsarukyan have been canceled as a result. Tsarukyan also blew weight by coming over the lightweight limit by one pound.

McGregor (22-4) wants to finish "The Diamond" even quicker than he did the first time. The two first met at UFC 178, where "Notorious" knocked his opponent out in less than two minutes. Despite being the sport’s biggest star, McGregor hasn’t been all that active in mixed martial arts lately as his only fight since 2019 was a 40-second TKO over Donald Cerrone. McGregor looked great on the scales for his first lightweight bout since October 2018 and officially weighed in at 155 pounds.

Six years has passed since his loss to McGregor, and Poirier (26-6, 1 NC) has found plenty of success during that time span. Not only did "The Diamond" win the interim lightweight title by dominating Max Holloway, he’s defeated many top names and former champions including Eddie Alvarez, Justin Gaethje and Anthony Pettis. Poirier looked prepared as always at the weigh-ins and came in at 156 pounds.

UFC 257’s preliminary card begins at 6:15 p.m. ET/3:15 p.m. PT on both ESPN+ and UFC Fight Pass. Action will then switch over to just ESPN+ starting at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT. The main card will stream exclusively via ESPN+ pay-per-view at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT.

UFC 257 Weigh-in Results:

Conor McGregor (155) vs. Dustin Poirier (156)
Michael Chandler (156) vs. Dan Hooker (156)
Jessica Eye (126) vs. Joanne Calderwood (126)
Ottman Azaitar (N/A)* vs. Matt Frevola (155.5)
Marina Rodriguez (116) vs. Amanda Ribas (116)
Nasrat Haqparast (N/A)** vs. Arman Tsarukyan (157)***
Brad Tavares (185.5) vs. Antonio Carlos Jr. (185)
Sara McMann (135) vs. Julianna Pena (136)
Marcin Prachnio (206) vs. Khalil Rountree (206)
Makhmud Muradov (186) vs. Andrew Sanchez (186)
Nik Lentz (150) vs. Movsar Evloev (150)
Amir Albazi (126) vs. Zhalgas Zhumagulov (126)
*Azaitar failed to weigh-in and is out of his bout.
**Haqparast failed to weigh-in and is out of his bout
***Tsarukyan missed weight by 1 pound and has been fined a percentage of his purse.
« Previous Next »

More

Fighter Profiles

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus

GRRRR!!!More on Sherdog.com Mobile