PFL 3 Weigh-in Results: Werdum, Ferreira Hit Marks for Heavyweight Headliner

By: Tristen Critchfield
May 6, 2021



Fabricio Werdum will begin his quest to add a Professional Fighters League championship belt to his trophy case on Thursday night.

The Brazilian heavyweight veteran made weight without issue ahead of the promotion’s third regular season event, as he tipped the scales at 241.4 pounds. His opponent, Renan Ferreira, also hit his contracted mark at 252 pounds.

There was one change to the card, however, as Muhammed DeReese (257.6) replaced Justin Willis and will face Denis Goltsov (240.4) in a heavyweight contest.

PFL 3 takes place at Ocean Casino Resort in Atlantic City, N.J., and features heavyweights and women’s lightweights. The main card airs on ESPN at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT. Prelims begin on ESPN+ at 5:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. PT and then move to ESPN/ESPN+ at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT.

A former UFC champion, Werdum last competed at UFC on ESPN 14 in July 2020, when he submitted former Alexander Gustafsson with an armbar in the opening stanza. That snapped a two-bout losing streak for the 43-year-old “Vai Cavalo,” who had fallen to Alexey Oleynik and Alexander Volkov in his previous Octagon appearances.

Ferreira enters his PFL debut with a 6-2 career mark. The 31-year-old Team Nogueira product last appeared at Legacy Fighting Alliance 74, where he submitted current UFC talent Jared Vanderaa in the second round in August 2019.

PFL 3 Weigh-in Results:

Fabricio Werdum (241.4) vs. Renan Ferreira (252)
Kayla Harrison (155.2) vs. Mariana Morais (153)
Mohammed Usman (239) vs. Brandon Sayles (264.2)
Larissa Pacheco (155.2) vs. Julija Pajic (155.8)
Ante Delija (233.2) vs. Bruno Henrique Cappelozza (234)
Cindy Dandois (153) vs. Kaitlin Young (155)
Genah Fabian (155.8) vs. Laura Sanchez (155.4)
Denis Goltsov (240.4) vs. Muhammed DeReese (257.6)
Helena Kolesnyk (155.2) vs. Taylor Guardado (154.6)
Kyron Bowen (170.8) vs. Magomed Umalatov (170.2)
« Previous Next »

More

GRRRR!!!More on Sherdog.com Mobile