Michael Arrant Replaces Thiago Meller, Meets John Howard at WSOF 31

By: Tristen Critchfield
Jun 15, 2016


John Howard has a new opponent at World Series of Fighting 31.

The Las Vegas-based promotion announced on Wednesday that Michael Arrant will replace Thiago Meller and face the UFC veteran in Saturday’s main card welterweight bout. A reason for Meller’s withdrawal was not given. WSOF also revealed that Marcus Surin will step in for Sam Watford and lock horns with Christian Torres in a preliminary lightweight contest.

WSOF 31 takes place at Foxwoods Resort Casino in Mashantucket, Conn., and is headlined by a heavyweight title clash between Blagoy Ivanov and Josh Copeland. The evening’s five-bout main card airs on NBC Sports Network at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT, while the preliminary draw streams on WSOF.com beginning at 5:45 ET/2:45 PT.



Watch 100+ Channels On Pluto TV



Anchored at Xtreme Couture, Arrant enters the matchup having won six of his last seven fights. Most recently, however, “Mad Mike” dropped a unanimous decision to ex-UFC talent Brock Jardine at an event in Utah last August. Arrant owns a 15-10 career mark, with 12 triumphs coming inside the distance.

Howard, meanwhile, is coming off a second UFC stint that saw him lose four of his last five Octagon appearances. In his last outing, “Doomsday” suffered a second-round knockout loss to Tim Means at UFC Fight Night in Las Vegas on Dec. 10.

Fighter Profiles

Related MMA News

GRRRR!!!More on Sherdog.com Mobile