Illness Forces Gillian Robertson Out of UFC 258, Bout vs. Miranda Maverick Canceled

By: Tristen Critchfield
Feb 13, 2021
UFC 258 is down to 10 bouts after a “non-COVID related issue” forced Gillian Robertson to withdraw from a proposed clash against Miranda Maverick.

Promotion officials announced the news a few hours before UFC 258 was scheduled to begin on Saturday. Robertson vs. Maverick was slated for the preliminary portion of the card. UFC 258 takes place at the UFC Apex in Las Vegas and is headlined by a welterweight championship tilt between Kamaru Usman and Gilbert Burns. The main card airs on pay-per-view via ESPN+ at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT, while prelims stream on ESPN+ at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT and ESPN/ESPN+ at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

“Heartbroken is the only way to describe it,” Robertson wrote in an Instagram post. “After a great camp and an easy weight cut I unfortunately woke up this morning at 4 a.m. vomiting and my condition has yet to improve. So for the first time in my career my team has decided it would be best to pull myself from this fight.

“My greatest apologies to Miranda, I know how much you put into this and it would be an honor to share the octagon with you in the future. I’m sorry to everyone im letting down, yy team, my fans and the UFC I wish I could have performed for you tonight.”

Robertson went 2-1 during three Octagon appearances in 2020. After defeating Cortney Casey by submission at UFC on ESPN 11 and outpointing Poliana Botelho at UFC Fight Night 180, “The Savage” dropped a unanimous verdict to Taila Santos in her last outing at UFC Fight Night 183 on Dec. 19. Robertson is 6-3 during her promotional tenure and 9-5 as a professional overall.

Maverick is currently on a four-bout winning streak, including a TKO of Liana Jojua in her Octagon debut at UFC 254.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Gillian Robertson (@savage_ufc)

« Previous Next »

More

Fighter Profiles

GRRRR!!!More on Sherdog.com Mobile