ROC 47 An Absolute Success!

Feb 1, 2014
(PRESS RELEASE) -- New York - It was another SOLD OUT show for Lou Neglia’s Ring of Combat as the Tropicana Casino played host to ROC 47 this past Friday. The atmosphere was electric and fight fans packed the venue to show support for the long running promotion and to also cheer on their favorite fighter.

“I am always proud for the support we get receive from the fight fans and the community, said Lou Neglia, Ring of Combat President. “A lot of hardwork goes into each and every Ring of Combat show and when you receive that kind of support from the fans, you just can’t say “thank you” enough,” Lou continued.

At a time when MMA promotions are battling for the #2 spot (behind the UFC) or busy calling each other out, Lou Neglia’s Ring of Combat continues to stand behind its successful formula of keeping it simple and giving the fight fans what they pay to see….great, evenly matched, fights from tomorrow's superstars.

This formula was again in play for ROC 47 as five fighters have earned the right to wear ROC gold in competitive and entertaining matchups. All titles were vacated by ROC alumni who now compete in the UFC such as current UFC Middleweight champion Chris Weidman and undefeated prospect, Ryan LaFlare to name only a couple.

Lou Neglia feels this group of newly crowned champions will also go on to compete in the UFC just like their predecessors. “This group of new Ring of Combat champions is a very talented group of fighters,” affirms Lou. “I have no doubt that they will be getting the call to compete in the UFC and just to make it to the big stage alone makes the ROC team and myself very proud,” he continued.

At ROC 47, Lou Neglia was joined by good friends and also former Ring of Combat alumni Chris Weidman, Frankie Edgar and Matt Serra who all went on to become UFC champions. All three are regular attendees at Ring of Combat events as they always support the fighters and the organization where they came from.

Ring of Combat is proud to announce their new champions:

Chris Wade / Lightweight Champion

Julio Arce / Bantamweight Champion

Elijah Harshbarger / Welterweight Champion

Keith Barish / Middlweight Champion

James Jenkins / Featherweight Champion


BOUTS Preliminary Card-(3 four minute rounds)

Kenny Gaudreau vs. Gregor Gillespie

Gillespie wins via TKO referee stoppage due to unanswered strikes at 1:38 of round one.

Allen Crowder vs. Gil Isabel

Crowder wins via guillotine at 0:15 of round two.

Main Card-(3 four minute rounds)

Mike Elshamy vs. Oluwale Bamgbose

Bamgbose wins via TKO referee stoppage due to strikes at 2:51 of round one.

Darren Mima (123-527) vs. Merab Dvalishvili

Mima wins majority decision in three rounds, 29-28, 29-28 and 29-29 Tabora.

Jonathan Hughes vs. Stephen Regman

Regman wins via TKO physician stoppage at 3:00 of round one.

Mike Santiago vs. Frankie Perez

Perez wins via rear naked choke at 1:56 of round one.

Leodegario Muniz vs. Jose Villanueva

Muniz wins via KO at 1:32 of round two.

Title Fights-(3 five minute rounds, plus a fourth five minute round in the event of a draw after third)

Elijah Harshbarger vs. Chris Cope

Harshbarger wins via rear naked choke at 1:36 of round three.

Adam Kantaev vs. James Jenkins

Jenkins wins via TKO (tap due to shoulder sublexation) at 0:37 of round two

Keith Berish vs. Ariel Sepulveda

Berish wins via rear naked choke at 4:30 of round one.

Jason McLean vs. Julio Arce

Arce wins unanimous decision in three rounds 30-27, 30-27 and 29-28 Sanidad.

Pat DeFranco vs. Chris Wade

Wade wins via rear naked choke at 2:31 of round two.

Fighter Profiles

Related MMA News

GRRRR!!!More on Mobile