WEC 48 Payouts: Aldo Earns $40,000

By: Loretta Hunt
Apr 28, 2010
Jose Aldo is not just king of the WEC’s featherweight hill; he was also the promotion’s highest base-salary earner at WEC 48 “Aldo vs. Faber,” according to figures released Wednesday by the California State Athletic Commission.

The 24-year-old Brazilian took home $40,000 for his punishing unanimous decision over former champion and hometown favorite Urijah Faber, who earned $28,000 in disclosed pay.

The WEC’s first pay-per-view event drew 12,555 fans to Sacramento’s Arco Arena for a gross gate of $792,640, said the CSAC. Zuffa’s disclosed payroll for the event, including its popular performance bonuses, was $596,500.

In the evening’s main attraction, WEC lightweight champion Benson Henderson quickly nullified rival Donald Cerrone with a guillotine choke two minutes into their rematch, netting the versatile Arizona fighter a $26,000 payday. Henderson’s pot was also sweetened by a $65,000 “submission of the night” bonus doled out by the promotion, bringing his total to $91,000. Cerrone, now 0-2 against the champion, received $14,000.

Leonard Garcia and Chan Sung Jung also took home $65,000 bonuses each for their lauded three-round brawl, which aired live on a one-hour special on Spike TV prior to the pay-per-view. Manny Gamburyan, who achieved the upset of the night with a first-round technical knockout over former featherweight champion Mike Thomas Brown was the recipient of the $65,000 “knockout of the night” bonus, pushing his take-home to $101,000.

WEC 48 Payouts

Benson Henderson -- $91,000 (including $11,000 win bonus, $65,000 submission bonus)
Donald Cerrone -- $14,000

Jose Aldo -- $40,000 (including $20,000 win bonus)
Urijah Faber -- $28,000

Manny Gamburyan -- $101,000 (including $18,000 win bonus, $65,000 knockout bonus)
Mike Thomas Brown-- $21,000

Shane Roller -- $28,000 (including $14,000 win bonus)
Anthony Njokuani -- $7,000

Scott Jorgensen-- $21,000 (including $10,500 win bonus)
Antonio Banuelos -- $7,000

Leonard Garcia -- $93,000 (including $14,000 win bonus, $65,000 FOTN bonus)
Chan Sung Jung -- $70,000 (including $65,000 FOTN bonus)

Anthony Pettis -- $8,000 (including $4,000 win bonus)
Alex Karalexis -- $10,000

Brad Pickett -- $8,000 (including $4,000 win bonus)
Demetrious Johnson -- $3,000

Chad Mendes -- $8,500 (including $4,000 win bonus)
Anthony Morrison -- $4,000

Takeya Mizugaki -- $16,000 (including $8,000 win bonus)
Rani Yahya -- $9,000

Tyler Toner -- $5,000 (including $2,000 win bonus)
Brandon Visher -- $4,000

Note: These numbers, sent to Sherdog.com by the California State Athletic Commission, are disclosed pay and bonuses only. They do not include additional bonuses or percentages of other revenue.

Related MMA News

Write For Us

GRRRR!!!More on Sherdog.com Mobile