Light Heavyweights Anthony Johnson, Mike Kyle Top WSOF 5 Bill in Atlantic City

By: Tristen Critchfield
Jul 15, 2013



A light heavyweight bout pitting Anthony Johnson against Mike Kyle will headline World Series of Fighting’s fifth event.

The promotion announced the pairing on Monday. WSOF 5 takes place on Sept. 14 at Revel Resort and Casino in Atlantic City, N.J. The five-bout main card will air on NBC Sports Network beginning at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT, while the evening’s preliminary contests stream live on WSOF.com at 6:30 ET/3:30 PT. More matchups are expected to be announced in the coming weeks.

A former welterweight who compiled a 7-4 mark in the UFC, Johnson carries a five-fight winning streak into the showdown with Kyle. Most recently, “Rumble” earned a unanimous verdict against Andrei Arlovski in the WSOF 2 headliner in March. The Blackzilians representative also appeared at the Las Vegas-based promotion’s inaugural event last November, knocking out D.J. Linderman in the first round. Johnson has earned 10 of his 15 triumphs by way of knockout.

Kyle, meanwhile, stopped Travis Wiuff in 21 seconds at CFA 11 on May 24. Prior to that, the American Kickboxing Academy representative was submitted by Gegard Mousasi in the first round at Strikeforce’s final card in January. The ex-KOTC titlist has finished 16 of his 20 career victories by knockout or submission.

Fighter Profiles

Related MMA News

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus

GRRRR!!!More on Sherdog.com Mobile