Combate Americas Reveals Alternate Bouts for ‘Copa Combate’ Bantamweight Tourney

By: Tristen Critchfield
Oct 26, 2017
Combate Americas will hold two alternate bouts during its one-night, eight-man bantamweight “Copa Combate” tournament on Nov. 11.

Levy Saul Marroquin Salazar will square off against Alejandro Abomohor, while Felipe Vargas will meet Jose Calvo. The winner of those contests will be available to step in should anyone from the original bracket be unable to compete or continue. Combate Americas also announced that a women’s atomweight clash between Sheila Padilla and Lisbeth Lopez Silva has been added to the preliminary draw.

“Copa Combate” takes place at Grand Oasis in Cancun and features the aforementioned tournament, where the winner will be awarded a $100,000 prize. The event will be televised on Telemundo Deportes at 11:35 p.m. ET/10:35 p.m. CT, with prelims streaming on TelemundoDeportes.com at 9 p.m. ET/8 p.m. CT.

Salazar is coming off a unanimous decision defeat to Andres Quintana at Combate Americas 15 on June 30. Abohomor, a native of Columbia, enters the matchup on a three-bout skid.

Columbia’s Vargas has been victorious in his first two professional bouts, but hasn’t competed since January 2016. Calvo, who hails from Costa Rica, is 5-1 as a professional, with all his victories coming inside the distance.

Related MMA News

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus

GRRRR!!!More on Sherdog.com Mobile